eBuster Home
 
 
  
Community Forum Help
   
Site Map  
.
  Advance Search
 
Why earn feedback when you can buy it
Saftey Center  
 
Fake login page


Believe it or not I was not looking for trouble when I stumbled across this fake login page I just wanted to cancel an advert but eBay hides the option in a drop down list so I did a quick ‘Google’

And I picked the first link that popped up as showed here and then without thinking I clicked the 'eBay end listing early form'And that was how eBuster got scammed but I soon realized my mistake and contacted eBay.

eBay had been warned several time about this fake login page hosted on www.About.com servers and when eBay failed to respond to my concerns about the page I a took a copy and as you can see added a big red bold warning message and published the cover up on this site so now comes the proof about who owns the page.


Now at this stage you have two options you can view eBays forum pages and see for yourself or you can look at a copy I have taken and the reason I insist on keeping copies is because eBay are in the habit of removing pages and message which I will come back to later.

News flash 09/07/2009 eBay removed the page from the forum

Yes I know what you’re saying he just posted it in a form and maybe eBay didn’t read it but you would be wrong and again here is the proof.

Message: IMPORTANT SECURITY PLEASE READ

I want to cancel item 270383934312 but got scammed

did google because could not see option in eBay and came to link
http://ebay.about.com/od/sellingeffectivel1/a/se_cancel.htm

this send me to here

this is a fake eBay page and gave a warning about cookies so i needed to change my password after i pressed the button. Why does eBay not have these site shut and i do want a proper answer not some auto reply

You can read one of the original emails here and again notice the incompetence where eBay say one minute the account was safe and next it had been hijacked and it’s not just fake login page but also contact page but still I best count myself lucky as half the time eBay refuses to talk English and insists on sending me messages in French.

Comment (1) Posted on 8/7/2009 by T-Bone
 

Just another load of parasites wasting taxes with brown noses up each other bum


Comment (2) Posted on 9/22/2009 by Citizen
 

You claim that http://ebay.about.com/od/sellingeffectivel1/a/se_cancel.htm contains a link to a FRAMED login page.

This is the sentence you refer to that has a link in it...

1.Visit the eBay end listing early form and enter the item number of the listing you'd like to end.

The link goes to the following page, which you claim is fake... http://tinyurl.com/n63vhf

However, it's just HTML Frames - the parent page and advertisment at the top of the page are hosted by About.com, but the main section of the page is a REA login page at ebay.

You can confirm this by reviewing the
HTML source of the parent page, and/or by RightClick > Properties on the lower section of the page.


Comment (3) Posted on 9/24/2009 by EBuster
Reply from eBuster

Yes as you say it is in a frameset but check out cross browser scripting and if you read the terms of eBay policy you will see that this is against the rules.

Also note eBay has changed the warning message on login pages and i did contact eBay about this page and got no reply as usual.


Comment (4) Posted on 9/28/2009 by Chris.
 

These scam ads are constantly appearing on ebay.co.uk which I assume are done by script injection? I have lost count of the number I have reported to ebay, but as soon as they remove one, another takes it's place. It's getting ridiculous!!
No good me giving item number as it means nothing. Search for this motorhome:


2005 SWIFT FREESTYLE MOTORHOME FIAT DUCATO CARAVAN TDI